Menu Close

Minnesota Twins Logo

Minnesota Twins Logo

The Minnesota Twins is an American professional baseball team based in Minneapolis, Minnesota. The Twins compete in Major League Baseball (MLB) as a member club of the American League (AL) Central division. The franchise was founded in 1901.

Minnesota Twins emblem

The team was initially called Washington Nationals, also referred to as Senators. This is because the franchise was in Washington in the first half of its competitive career (almost 60 years). At first – under the leadership of Ban Johnson and Fred Postal (1901-1903), then under the leadership of Thomas Noyes, who bought the franchise in 1904. He owned the baseball club until 1912 when he sold it to Benjamin Minor. Eight years later, he yielded a proprietary right to Clark Griffith, who owned the Senators until his death in 1955.

Calvin Griffith orchestrated the transfer of Minnesota Twins after 60 years in Washington, D.C., to Minneapolis-Saint Paul in 1961. The team was given a warm welcome in the new place because there were several brilliant players. Carl Pohlad owned the team from 1984 to 2009. After his death, his heir Jim Pohlad took over his responsibilities and he still owns the franchise.

Minnesota Twins symbol

“Twins” are named after the Twin Cities area comprising Minneapolis and St. Paul, where they’re based now. Right after the dislocation, the team was called Twin Cities Baseball. The name “Twins” was derived from the popular name of the region, the Twin Cities, as the team was usually referred to as “Twin”.

Minnesota Twins logo history

The best logo in the history of the Minnesota Twins?
  • 1905-1935
    0% 0 / 53
  • 1936-1937
    0% 0 / 53
  • 1938-1947
    1% 1 / 53
  • 1948-1952
    0% 0 / 53
  • 1953-1956
    1% 1 / 53
  • 1957-1960
    3% 2 / 53
  • 1961-1975
    3% 2 / 53
  • 1976-1986
    15% 8 / 53
  • 1987-2009
    13% 7 / 53
  • 2010-present
    60% 32 / 53

Club “Minnesota Twins” had 14 logos and 4 nicknames. Several emblems initially were only the letters, however, then they started to use full-featured design.

1901 – 1904

Washington Nationals (1901-1904)

Initially, the team was called “Washington Senators” and their logo was a classic dark blue letter “W”.

1905 – 1935

Washington Nationals (1905-1935)

The team nickname changed to “Washington Nationals”. In the next 20 years, the logo still was the blue letter “W”, which had slight changes.

1936 – 1937

Washington Nationals (1936-1937)

Dark blue letter “W”, which stands for Washington, had the thick red outline.

1938 – 1947

Washington Nationals (1938-1947)

Designers removed the red outline from the logo and the dark blue letter became bigger.

1948 – 1952

Washington Nationals (1948-1952)

Navy blue letter “W” is with a red outline again, however, it’s now thinner.

1953 – 1956

Washington Senators (1953-1956)

In 1953, Washington Nationals use a full-featured design on their logo for the first time. The U.S. Capitol Dome busting out of a white and red baseball. There is a white baseball bat with a red outline in the background. Dark blue baseball cap with a small letter “W” is on top of the Capitol Dome.

The Senators continued with the same logo as the final logo from the Nationals, which depicts the U.S. Capitol Dome, baseball, bat and the team’s cap.

1957 – 1960

Washington Senators (1957-1960)

The new emblem features a caricature of a U.S. Senator winding up to throw a pitch, team name behind on blue and red circle, Washington Monument also is in the background.

1961 – 1975

Minnesota Twins (1961-1975)

When the team was renamed “Minnesota Twins”, they also changed the logo. Illustrator Ray Barton created the iconic image of Twins “Minnie” and “Paul” wearing baseball uniforms bearing the initials of Minneapolis and St. Paul shaking hands over the Mississippi river on a light blue design of the state Minnesota late in 1960 and a white baseball. Whatever the case, Griffith decided to turn the drawing into the team’s official emblem. Barton was paid $15 for his artwork.

1976 – 1986

Minnesota Twins (1976-1986)

Tenth Minnesota Twins logo is similar to the previous one, however, it had some changes. Twins “Minnie” and “Paul” shaking hands over the Mississippi river with “Win! Twins!” above. Besides, light blue became dark blue.

1987 – 2009

Minnesota Twins (1987-2009)

The Minnesota Twins logo of 1987 features “Twins” in red with underscore highlighting “win” on a big red and white baseball. There’s also Minnesota in black above.

2010 – present

Minnesota Twins (2010-Present)

During the period while the team was called Washington Senators, it had 14 logos. Since being in Minnesota, they have only had two different logos with some variations. The current version of the logo is a circle inside another circle. There’s a white with red stitches baseball in the center of the Minnesota Twins logo. Twins in red with a dark blue outline with underscore highlighting “win” on a baseball inside a navy circle reading “Minnesota Baseball Club”. The words are white and separated into two parts: the first word is at the top (name of the state), and the other two are at the bottom (team’s sports status). Letters “T” и “s” go outside the internal circle, which makes the Minnesota Twins emblem stylistically integral. There’s a thick dark blue outline.

Minnesota Twins logo evolution

Minnesota Twins Color

RGB: (0,43,92)
HSB: (213,81,25)
CMYK: (99,85,45,50)
HEX COLOR: #D31145;
RGB: (211,17,69)
HSB: (347,93,72)
CMYK: (18,100,88,9)
RGB: (185,151,91)
HSB: (38,50,72)
CMYK: (27,38,74,3)